Dear Members of Congress: 

Several years into its implementation, problems with the so-called Affordable Care Act (ACA) continue to mount. Families and businesses across the country face skyrocketing healthcare premiums and deductibles; they also face fewer insurance options as co-ops fail and insurance companies leave the health care exchanges. 

On top of the billions in subsidies and the mandate that Americans buy insurance, the President’s health care law created several transitional programs intended to stabilize insurance markets and reduce insurance company risk during implementation, including the Transitional Reinsurance Program and the Risk Corridor Program. Insurance companies and the Obama administration are currently seeking to extend these programs and expand their scope. 

The Transitional Reinsurance Program requires depositing $5 billion into the U.S. Treasury to offset the costs of Obamacare. Yet the Obama administration has failed to deposit a single dollar into the Treasury to date—instead, it has redirected these funds toward insurance companies experiencing greater-than-expected losses. 

The Risk Corridor Program allows insurance companies to underwrite risky policies that they wouldn’t otherwise cover, putting taxpayers on the hook if the costs of a plan run higher than expected. This program has been overwhelmed by the magnitude of insurance company financial losses, leaving the budget-neutral program unable to provide all of the requested bailout money. Although current law prohibits the use of fiscal year 2016 appropriated funds to supplement the Risk Corridor Program, the Obama administration announced that it will seek to end the prohibition and open the risk corridor bailout spigot. 

In classic fashion, the Obama administration has indicated intentions to work around Congress to get what it wants. In a Sept. 9 memorandum, the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services said it is open to resolving baseless lawsuits filed by insurance companies seeking additional payments under the Risk Corridor Program. Through settlements, the administration could bypass Congress altogether and continue to misuse taxpayer dollars to pay for bailouts. 

Thankfully, there are actions that Congress can take to stop this. The first is to recover the $5 billion illegally given to insurance companies through the reinsurance program by passing the Taxpayers Before Insurers Act (S. 2803, HR 5904), sponsored by Senator Sasse and Congressman Walker. The second is to prevent this from happening again — Congress should continue the budget neutrality provision in the risk corridor program, as well as pass legislation preventing the administration from using the “Judgment Fund” or any other taxpayer dollars to give money to insurers. 

American households deserve better than to have their tax dollars go toward bailouts for insurance companies. Thank you for your attention to this important issue. 


Jim Martin, Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Don Irvine, Chairman, Accuracy in Media

Nick Sorrentino, Co-Founder,

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

William H. Shaker, President, American Council for Health Care Reform

Sean Noble, President, American Encore

Gary L. Bauer, President, American Values

Wm. Brent Gardner, VP of Government Affairs, Americans for Prosperity

Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform

Norm Singleton, President, Campaign for Liberty

Albert J. Lechner, Jr. President and CEO, Cause of Action

Andrew F. Quinlan, President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeff Mazzella, President, Center For Individual Freedom

Jim Backlin, Vice President of Legislative Affairs, Christian Coalition of America 

David McIntosh, President, Club for Growth

Bill Walton, Chairman, Board of Directors, CNP Action, Inc.

Michael J. Bowen, CEO, Coalition For a Strong America

Tom Brinkman, Jr., Founder, Coalition Opposed to Additional Spending and Taxes 

Jonathan Bydlak, President, Coalition to Reduce Spending

Stephen Moore, Co-Founder, Committee to Unleash Prosperity

Chip DeMoss, President and CEO, Compact for America

Gregory Conko, Executive Vice President, Competitive Enterprise Institute

Dan Caldwell, Vice President, Concerned Veterans for America

Penny Nance, President, Concerned Women for America

Neil Bradley, Chief Strategy Officer, Conservative Reform Network

Robert K. Fischer, Meeting Coordinator, Conservatives of Faith

Thomas Schatz, President, Council for Citizens for Against Government Waste 

David Bozell, President, For America

Tarren Bragdon, President and CEO, Foundation for Government Accountability 

William Hillman, Chairman, Free Market America

Matt Kibbe, President, Free the People

Adam Brandon, President and CEO, Freedom Works

Andrew Clark, President, Generation Opportunity

Michael Needham, Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Action

Dan Perrin, President, HSA Coalition

Heather Higgins, President and CEO, Independent Women’s Voice

Seton Motley, President, Less Government

Daniel Garza, President, Libre Initiative

Gregory Angelo, President, Log Cabin Republicans

Harry C. Alford, President and CEO, National Black Chamber of Commerce 

Willes K. Lee, President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Brandon Arnold, Executive Vice President, National Taxpayers Union

Eli Lehrer, President, R Street

William Whipple, III, President, Secure America’s Future Economy

Teri Christoph, Co-Founder, Smart Girl Politics

David Williams, President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips, Founder, Tea Party Nation

Jenny Beth Martin, Co-Founder, Tea Party Patriots

C. Preston Noell, III, President, Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Beverly Gossage, President, HSA Benefits Consulting

Doug Badger, Health Policy Analyst and Former Presidential Advisor