Click HERE to view the PDF.


Dear Speaker Ryan, Leader McConnell, Secretary Mnuchin, Director Cohn, Chairman Hatch, and Chairman Brady: 


On behalf of the undersigned organizations, we write to urge passage of comprehensive, pro-growth tax reform in 2017.


In the past 30 years, the tax code has expanded in size and complexity. Today, the code serves well-connected special interests, not hard working American families. After many years of inaction, Congress and the administration have a chance to fix our broken tax system this year by making it fairer, simpler, and less burdensome.


There is broad consensus on the need for tax reform. With the 2018 midterm elections in sight, it is also crucial that bold policies keeping the promises made to the American people are realized soon.


Numerous polls have shown widespread public support for tax reform that lowers rates for all and reforms the code based on the principles of simplicity, fairness, and equity. Americans are frustrated with the rigged system that favors the politically connected and lobbyists at the expense of ordinary Americans.


It is key that tax reform reduce rates for Americans across the board, drastically simplifies the code for families and individuals, ends the Death Tax, unrigs the system to promote a healthy economy, and implements a territorial system of taxation so businesses large and small can compete.


2017 represents an important opportunity to provide financial security to hardworking taxpayers by signing tax reform into law. We applaud the work that each of you have already taken to ensure tax reform is enacted in 2017 and stand ready to continue working with you in the second half of the year.




Grover Norquist

President, Americans for Tax Reform


Christine Harbin

Vice President of External Affairs, Americans for Prosperity


James L. Martin

Founder & Chairman, 60 Plus Association


Dan Greenberg

President, Advance Arkansas Institute


Phil Kerpen

President, American Commitment


Daniel Schneider

Executive Director, American Conservative Union


Steve Pociask

President, American Consumer Institute


Tim Doyle

Vice President of Policy & General Counsel, American Council for Capital Formation


Sean Noble

President, American Encore


Lisa B. Nelson

CEO, American Legislative Exchange Council


Ashley N. Varner

Executive Director, ALEC Action


Mark J. Fitzgibbons

President of Corporate Affairs, American Target Advertising, Inc.


Kevin Waterman

Chair, Annapolis Center Right Coalition Meeting (Maryland)


Scot Mussi

President, Arizona Free Enterprise Club


Dan Weber

President, Association of Mature American Citizens


Lindsay Boyd

Policy Director, Beacon Center of Tennessee


Robert Alt

President and CEO, The Buckeye Institute (Ohio)


Garrett Ballengee

Executive Director, Cardinal Institute for West Virginia Public Policy


Bob Carlstrom

President, The Carlstrom Group


Steve Buckstein

Founder, Cascade Policy Institute (Oregon)


Kent Lassman

President, Competitive Enterprise Institute


Jeffrey Mazella

President, Center for Individual Freedom


Andrew F. Quinlan

President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity


Peter Nelson

Vice President, Center of the American Experiment (Minnesota)


Chip Faulkner

Associate Director, Citizens for Limited Taxation (Massachusetts)


Chuck Muth

President, Citizen Outreach (Nevada)


Ralph Benko

Conservative Columnist


Matthew Kandrach

President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy


Thomas Schatz

President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste


Edward King

President, Defense Priorities Initiative


Katie McAuliffe

Executive Director, Digital Liberty


Craig Richardson

President, E&E Action


Robert Roper

President, Ethan Allen Institute (Vermont)


Timothy Head

Executive Director, Faith & Freedom Coalition


Palmer Schoening

President, Family Business Coalition


Richard Watson

Chairman, Florida Center Right Coalition


Annette Meeks

CEO, Freedom Foundation of Minnesota


Nathan Nascimento

Vice President of Policy, Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce


Adam Brandon

President, FreedomWorks


David Barnes

Policy Director, Generation Opportunity


Kelly McCutchen

President and CEO, Georgia Public Policy Foundation


Rodolfo E. Milani

Trustee, HACER (Hispanic American Center for Economic Research)


Joseph Bast

CEO, The Heartland Institute


Mario H. Lopez

President, Hispanic Leadership Fund


William A. Estrada, Esq.

Director of Federal Relations, Home School Legal Defense Association


Wayne Hoffman

President, Idaho Freedom Foundation


Jon Caldara

President, Independence Institute (Colorado)


Heather R. Higgins

President and CEO, Independent Women's Voice


Tom Giovanetti

President, Institute for Policy Innovation


Sal J. Nuzzo

Vice President of Policy, The James Madison Institute (Florida)


Kory Swanson

President & CEO, John Locke Foundation (North Carolina)


Dave Trabert

President, Kansas Policy Institute


Nancy Misasi

President, Lakeland Tea Party of Greater Wanaque Area (New Jersey)


John Tomicki

Executive Director, League of American Families


Seton Motley

President, Less Government


Colin A. Hanna

President, Let Freedom Ring


Daniel Garza

Executive Director, The LIBRE Initiative     


Brett Healy

President, The MacIver Institute (Wisconsin)


Michael LaFaive

Senior Director of Fiscal Policy, Mackinac Center for Public Policy (Michigan)


Carl Copeland

Executive Director, Massachusetts Fiscal Alliance


Mary Adams

Chair, Maine Center-right Coalition Meeting


Pem & Ruth Schaeffer

Maine Conservative Activists


Tom Davis

Maine Conservative Activist


Victoria Bucklin

Maine Conservative Activist


Henry Kriegel

President, Montanans for Tax Reform


Tim Jones

Former Speaker, Missouri House of Representatives

State Chair, Missouri Center-Right Coalition


Harry C. Alford

President/CEO, National Black Chamber of Commerce


Brandon Arnold

Executive Vice President, National Taxpayers Union


The Honorable William O'Brien

Former Speaker, New Hampshire House of Representatives

Co-chair, New Hampshire Center Right Coalition


Grant Malloy

Chair, Orlando Florida Center Right


Jonathan Small

President, Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs


Jeff Kropf

Executive Director, Oregon Capitol Watch


Daniel J. Erspamer

CEO, Pelican Institute for Public Policy (Louisiana)


Lorenzo Montanari

Executive Director, Property Rights Alliance


Don Racheter

President, Public Interest Institute (Iowa)


Charlie Gerow

President, Quantum Communications (Pennsylvania)


Eli Lehrer

President, R Street Institute


Paul Gessing

President, Rio Grande Foundation (New Mexico)


Mike Stenhouse

CEO, Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity


Bill Whipple

President & Director, Secure America's Future Economy (SAFE)


Karen Kerrigan

President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council


David Williams

President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance


Judson Phillips

President, Tea Party Nation


Jenny Beth Martin

Co-Founder & CEO, Tea Party Patriots


Kevin D. Roberts, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Texas Public Policy Foundation


Mike Thompson

Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy (Virginia)


Carl Bearden

Executive Director, United for Missouri


Jonathan Downing

CEO, Wyoming Liberty Group