Click HERE to view the PDF


On behalf of the undersigned organizations and our millions of members, we urge the House of Representatives to pass H. Con. Res. 71, the fiscal year 2018 budget resolution, as amended and passed by the Senate.

The budget process serves many important purposes, but this year’s iteration offers a unique opportunity to pass fundamental tax reform — far and away our nation’s highest fiscal priority. The quickest and highest-probability path to achieving this goal would be to bypass the conference process and move directly to a House vote on the Senate-passed budget resolution.

Doing so will give members of the House and Senate a head-start on negotiating the specifics of tax reform legislation. Our organizations hope to play a meaningful role in these conversations as we work toward expanding the economy, simplifying the tax code, and helping ease the burden of taxation for American families and individuals.

All of these goals would be best served if the House quickly adopted the budget passed by the Senate and moved promptly to crafting pro-growth, pro-family tax reform legislation. We urge the House to quickly take up and pass H. Con. Res. 71 in its current form.



Brandon Arnold, Executive Vice President, National Taxpayers Union

Jim Martin, Founder & Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO, ALEC Action

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

Chrissy Harbin, Vice President of External Affairs, Americans for Prosperity

Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform

Andrew F. Quinlan, President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella, President, Center for Individual Freedom

David McIntosh, President, Club for Growth

Richard A. Viguerie, Chairman, ConservativeHQ

Matthew Kandrach, President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy (CASE)

Tom Schatz, President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Katie McAuliffe, Executive Director, Digital Liberty

Patrick D. Purtill, Director of Legislative Affairs, Faith and Freedom Coalition

Palmer Schoening, Chairman, Family Business Coalition

Nathan Nascimento, Vice President of Policy, Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Adam Brandon, President, FreedomWorks

Heather R. Higgins, President and CEO, Independent Women’s Voice

Gregory T. Angelo, President, Log Cabin Republicans

Karen Kerrigan, President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

David Williams, President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Jenny Beth Martin, Chairman, Tea Party Patriots Citizens Fund

Judson Phillips, Founder, Tea Party Nation