Click HERE to view the PDF

April 26, 2018

Dear Members of Congress:

The undersigned organizations urge you to support the concurrent resolution, introduced by Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) and Congressman David McKinley (R-WV), which expresses the sense of the Congress that a carbon tax would be detrimental to the U.S. economy. 

We oppose any carbon tax. We oppose a carbon tax because it would lead to less income and fewer jobs for American families.

For example, a 2014 Heritage Foundation report found that a $37 per ton carbon tax would lead to a loss of more than $2.5 trillion in aggregate gross domestic product by 2030. That is more than $21,000 in income loss per family.

In addition, a carbon tax would cost over 500,000 jobs in manufacturing and more than 1 million jobs by 2030. According to a 2013 CBO report, a carbon tax is highly regressive.

After President Trump signed the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act into law on December 22, 2017, more than 90 percent of wage earners have had higher take-home pay.

At least 500 companies of all sizes have already announced special bonuses, pay raises, 401(k) match increases, tuition assistance, new training programs and other benefits for workers.

Thanks to the GOP tax cuts, utility companies are lowering rates, which means lower bills for consumers.

A carbon tax would reverse many of these successes.

We support the House Concurrent Resolution in opposition to a job-killing carbon tax and urge members to co-sponsor and support this effort.




Grover Norquist

President, Americans for Tax Reform


James L. Martin, Founder/Chairman

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis

60 Plus Association


Lisa B. Nelson

CEO, ALEC Action


Tom Pyle

President, American Energy Alliance


Norm Singleton

President, Campaign for Liberty

Bob Carlstrom

President, The Carlstrom Group, LLC


Andrew F. Quinlan

President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity


Jeffrey Mazzella

President, Center for Individual Freedom


Kent Lassman

President, Competitive Enterprise Institute


Matthew Kandrach

President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy


Thomas Schatz

President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste


Craig Richardson

President, Energy & Environmental Legal Institute


Alex Ayers

Executive Director, Family Business for Affordable Energy


Jason Pye

Vice President of Legislative Affairs, FreedomWorks


Carrie L. Lukas

President, Independent Women’s Forum


Heather R. Higgins

CEO, Independent Women’s Voice


Seton Motley

President, Less Government


David Williams

President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance


Judson Phillips

Founder, Tea Party Nation


Amy Kremer

Co-Chair, Women for Trump


Becky Norton Dunlop

Former Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia