Click HERE to view the PDF.

July 16, 2018


Chairman Mike Crapo

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs

534 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20510


Dear Chairman Crapo and Members of the Committee:

On behalf of the undersigned organizations and the millions of Americans we represent, we are pleased that you will soon be considering the nomination of Kathy Kraninger at the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (Bureau), for the position of Director of that Bureau. We write to strongly support Kathy Kraninger to be the Director of the Bureau and urge the Senate to swiftly approve her nomination.

For more than two decades, Ms. Kraninger has been a loyal and accomplished public servant. She has served with distinction in important positions in the Departments of Transportation and Homeland Security and with the House and Senate Appropriations Committees. Through these experiences, she has developed a deep understanding of public policy and of the management of Federal Government programs. In Kathy, the American people would have a highly qualified and effective leader for the Bureau, who would be committed to fulfilling its statutory mission of protecting consumers rather than the agenda of any special interest.

In our view, it is important that accomplished women, like Kathy, have the opportunity to assume important leadership positions, such as Director of the Bureau. For too long, women have been underrepresented in the leadership of government agencies. With the nomination of Kathy Kraninger, the U.S. Senate has the opportunity to confirm the first woman to serve as the Director of the Bureau. Accordingly, we strongly support the prompt confirmation of Kathy Kraninger.

Thank you for your leadership.


Heather Higgins

CEO, Independent Women’s Voice



Andrea G. Bottner


Bottner Strategies


Julie A. Conway

Executive Director

Value In Electing Women


Rachel Campos Duffy


Mattie Duppler


Forward Strategies


Jennifer Higgins


Chamber Hill Strategies


Bettina Inclán

Executive Director



Emily Lampkin


The Lampkin Group


Tara Setmayer


Sue Zoldak


The Zoldak Agency