For further information, please contact:

WSCC Chairman Rebecca Kleefisch, Lt. Governor of Wisconsin


[email protected]


Heather Higgins Sworn in to Help Lead Effort Commemorating 100 Years of Women’s Suffrage

Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission has first meeting, releases first report


November 5, 2018 (Washington D.C.) – On October 29, 2018 the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission held its first meeting for administrative purposes at the Capitol Visitor Center in Washington, D.C. The Commission, created in 2017 through the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission Act, will lead national efforts to commemorate, educate and celebrate the centennial of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment.

Heather Higgins, who was appointed by Speaker Ryan, is one of 14 women serving on the Commission. The other appointees, who represent “diverse economic, professional, and cultural backgrounds,” as intended under the law, include:

  • Kay Coles James: President, Heritage Foundation
  • Jovita Carranza: 44th Treasurer of the U.S.
  • Rebecca Kleefisch: Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin
  • Heather Higgins: President and CEO, Independent Women’s Voice
  • Jennifer Siebel Newsom: Documentary filmmaker/actress
  • Nicola Miner: Professor, College of San Mateo
  • Marjorie Dannenfelser: President, Susan B. Anthony List
  • Cleta Mitchell: Partner, Foley & Lardner
  • Karen Hill: President and CEO, Harriet Tubman Home
  • Barbara Mikulski: Senator (D-MD, retired)
  • Colleen Shogan: Deputy Director, National and International Outreach, Library of Congress
  • Debra Wall: Deputy Archivist of the U.S.
  • Julissa Marenco: Assistant Secretary for Communications and External Affairs, The Smithsonian
  • Susan Combs: Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management and Budget, Department of the Interior

At the first meeting, the Commission approved of their charter and circulated it to the appropriate Congressional and federal offices. They also unanimously elected Rebecca Kleefisch, Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin as Chair, and Kay Coles James, President of the Heritage Foundation as Vice Chair.

“I am excited for the opportunity to work with Heather Higgins on this important work in celebrating women’s right to vote in our country,” said Kleefisch. “This group is comprised of successful and inspiring women of diverse backgrounds, and I’m optimistic about what we will accomplish together.”   

The Commission will meet at least once every six months until it terminates on April 15, 2021. The next meeting will be held on Friday, December 7 in Washington, D.C. and will be open to the public.