This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is PF_PDFbutton-01-scaled.png

Dear Member of Congress: 

We, the undersigned organizations, oppose the inaccurately named Credit Card Competition Act of 2022 (S. 4674). The bill is a backdoor  price control, and extension and expansion of the Durbin amendment as  enacted in the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (P.L. 111-203).  

As written, the bill directs the Federal Reserve to draft rules requiring credit cards issued in the United States to offer at least two unaffiliated  payment network options for point-of-sale and online transactions.  

According to the bill, the two networks may not both be Visa and  Mastercard, because they “hold the 2 largest market shares with respect  to the number of credit cards issued in the United States.” However,  should market share switch hands to new firms, the routing mandates  will no longer apply. The bill also mandates that the proprietary security of the credit cards function so that all networks are available for retailers  to pick and choose—consumers get no say whatsoever. In fact, the bill  never mentions consumers, nor how they will benefit.  

It is abundantly clear that special interest groups are using the  federal government to alter the credit card market to benefit  themselves and not consumers. This is textbook rent seeking behavior, anathema to free market principles, and should be  staunchly opposed by Republican lawmakers.  

Furthermore, we oppose S. 4674 for the following reasons: 

The bill does not promote competition, instead it dramatically expands the role of the federal government to  overregulate the market for credit cards. Today, requiring multiple dual-message networks to function over one card is  technologically infeasible. The cost of overhauling our current  credit system to comply with the mandates in the bill could cost  up to $5 billion.  

The mandates in the bill are so costly that more than $60  billion in rewards that consumers receive every year would  largely disappear. According to the International Center for  Law & Economics, “86% of credit cardholders have active  rewards cards, including 77% of cardholders with a household  income of less than $50,000.”

The bill authorizes the federal government to intervene in  contracts between private parties. The federal government  should not be interfering in private contractual agreements. This  encroachment will force small banks and credit unions to  severely limit or cease providing co-branded cards that millions  of consumers use every day. This is similar to how Biden’s  Securities and Exchange Commission is attempting to dictate provisions of contracts between private fund advisers and  investors.  

There is no evidence that this bill will pass savings down to  consumers. A report from the Government Accountability  Office stated that if the regulations in the Durbin amendment  “had not been implemented, 65 percent of noninterest checking  accounts offered by covered banks would have been free.” Since  the enactment of the Durbin amendment, about 22% of retailers have raised prices on consumers while only 1% lowered prices.  Additional regulation on credit interchange will affect fees and  interest in the credit market, thus increasing costs for consumers. 

Because the bill forces credit cards to allow access to all  networks, proprietary technology will be exposed to  competing networks, destroying incentives to create new and  innovative fraud protection and cybersecurity. As one paper points out, the routing mandates “largely undermine the  economics of networks and issuers.” 

The bill is a perfect example of Congress ceding its Article I  authority to the Federal Reserve. All the provisions of this bill  require the Federal Reserve to draft rules to carry out its  mandates.  

Based on the points made above, we believe this bill is diametrically  opposed to free market principles. We encourage all lawmakers to  oppose this bill. 


Grover Norquist  
Americans for Tax Reform 

Adam Brandon 

Karen Kerrigan 
President & CEO 
Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council 

Eli Lehrer 
R Street Institute  

Steve Pociask 
President / CEO 
American Consumer Institute 

Heather R. Higgins 
Independent Women’s Voice 

Tom Schatz 
Council for Citizens Against Government Waste 

Pete Sepp 
National Taxpayers Union 

Andrew F. Quinlan 
Center for Freedom and Prosperity 

David Williams 
Taxpayers Protection Alliance 

Phil Kerpen 
American Commitment  

Jeffrey Mazzella 
Center for Individual Freedom

James Taylor 
The Heartland Institute  

Jessica Anderson 
Executive Director 
Heritage Action for America 

Brent Wm. Gardner 
Chief Government Affairs Officer Americans for Prosperity 

John Berlau 
Director of Finance Policy  
Competitive Enterprise Institute 

Seton Motley 
Less Government  

Ryan Ellis 
Center for a Free Economy  

Ashley Baker 
Director of Public Policy 
The Committee for Justice 

Christopher Butler 
Interim Director 
Digital Liberty 

Paul Gessing 
Rio Grande Foundation 

Dominic M. Calabro 
President & CEO 
Florida TaxWatch 

Gregg Keller  
Missouri Century Foundation

Yaël Ossowski 
Deputy Director  
Consumer Choice Center 

Bryan Bashur 
Executive Director 
Shareholder Advocacy Forum 

Gerard Scimeca 
Consumer Action for a Strong Economy