February 1, 2021

Washington, DC

Conservatives urge school districts across America to re-open in accordance with scientific evidence. Recently released data from the Centers for Disease Control show little evidence that schools contribute meaningfully to the spread of COVID-19.

Specifically, a report published in JAMA, the journal of the American Medical Association and authored by three CDC scientists, found that "the type of rapid spread that was frequently observed in congregate living facilities or high-density worksites has not been reported in education settings in schools."

Moreover, evidence continues to grow regarding the social and emotional toll on students being forced to learn virtually. Data also demonstrates the academic toll taken on students, especially on those in low-income communities and with special needs.

Many public and private schools around the country have prioritized the needs of students and been open for in-person instruction. We commend those school districts and administrators that have sought to minimize the toll of the pandemic on healthy children in their most formative years.

The frequent refrain during this pandemic has been to "follow the science." The science and data now clearly indicate two things: first, it is safe to open schools; and second, that failure to do so is irreparably harming students, particularly low-income students.

We urge every state and local government to prioritize and incentivize school re-opening without delay.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman, Conservative Action Project President, Republic Book Publishers Penny Y. Nance President & CEO Concerned Women for America

The Honorable David McIntosh

President Club for Growth

Mary Vought Executive Director Senate Conservatives Fund

Myron Ebell Director, Center for Energy and Environment Competitive Enterprise Institute

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell President The Leadership Institute

William L. Walton President Council for National Policy The Honorable Russ Vought

Director Office of Management and Budget (2020-2021)

Scott T. Parkinson VP for Government Affairs Club for Growth

Jenny Beth Martin Chairman Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq. Chairman, CNP Action, Inc. President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr. Chief Domestic Advisor President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

Christopher Malagisi Executive Director of Outreach Hillsdale College L. Brent Bozell, III Founder and President Media Research Center The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop White House Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

Craig Shirley Reagan Biographer Presidential Historian **Rod D. Martin** Founder and CEO The Martin Organization, Inc.

Christina Murphy Lusk

President

Sherri R. Martin Executive Vice President The Martin Organization, Inc.

Lourdes Cosio Campaign for the American Future **Guillermo J. Aragon** Chief Financial Officer Martin Imaging, Inc.

The Martin Foundation

Shawn A. Mitchell Former National Chaplain National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Lew Uhler Founder and President National Tax Limitation Committee

Sal Russo Co-Founder and Chief Strategist Tea Party Express Haley E. Martin Past President The Martin Foundation

Judson Phillips Founder Tea Party Nation

Mike Davis Founder and President Article III Project (A3P) **Kay R. Daly** President Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

G Eric Georgatos Executive Producer America Can We Talk? americacanwetalk.org

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr Managing Editor ConservativeHQ.com

Gerard Kassar State Chairman NYS Conservative Party

Kielle C. Horton President The Lindsey Foundation

Ron Pearson Executive Director Conservative Victory Fund Jessica Jensen Vice President & Chief of Staff Young America's Foundation

Karen England Executive Director Capitol Resource Institute

Gary Marx President Madison Strategies

Joseph A. Morris Partner, Morris & De La Rosa Former Assistant U.S. Attorney General

Joan Holt Lindsey President Lindsey Communications

Phil Kerpen President American Commitment

Michelle Easton

President Clare Boothe Luce Center for Conservative Women

Annette Thompson Meeks

CEO Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Chairman Eagle Forum

Anne Schlafly Cori

Jack Park Conservative Activist and Donor Law Offices of Jack Park

Rob Chambers Vice President

AFA Action

Kevin Freeman Founder NSIC Institute

Twila Brase, RN, PHN

President and Co-founder Citizens' Council for Health Freedom

Randy M. Long Founder Long Business Advisors, LLC

Sean Noble President American Encore **Donna Rice Hughes** CEO/President Enough Is Enough

Andresen Blom

Hawaiian Values

President

Khadine Ritter President Eagle Forum of Ohio

Martha Boneta President Vote America First

Darrel W Johnson President and CEO Attic Corp Amapola Hansberger President Legal Immigrants for America

Richard Norman Founder and President The Richard Norman Company

David N. Bossie President Citizens United **Dr. Allen Unruh** CEO National Abstinence Clearinghouse

National Federation of Republican

Mario Navarro da Costa

Tradition, Family, Property

Director, Washington Bureau

Willes K. Lee

President

Assemblies

The Honorable Peter J. Thomas Chairman The Conservative Caucus Amb. Henry F. Cooper President Reagan's Chief Defense and Space Negotiator Former SDI Director

Richard D. Hayes Partner Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, LLP Eaton Hopkins President Liberty Surgical, Inc.

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association Saulius "Saul" Anuzis President 60 Plus Association

The Honorable Mike Hill Former Member Florida State House Seton Motley President Less Government **Rick Scarborough** President Recover America Now

Dr. Richard Rounsavelle

Trustee MRC Aslan Ventures

General Partner

E.C.Sykes

William W. Pascoe, III Board Member Tea Party Patriots Action

Terrence Scanlon

U.S. CPSC 1985-1989

Chairman

The Honorable Diana Denman

Presidential Appointee/ President Ronald Reagan Reagan Legacy Forum

Jeff Hunt

Director Centennial Institute

Carrie Lukas

President Independent Women's Forum Mathew Staver Founder and Chairman Liberty Counsel

Heather R. Higgins CEO Independent Women's Voice

The Honorable Bob McEwen

U.S. House of Representatives Former Member, Ohio The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel

U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985) U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)

Elaine Donnelly

President Center for Military Readiness

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.