## 2022 Gun Control Deal – It's not too late to stop a bad deal

conservativeactionproject.com/2022-gun-control-deal-its-not-too-late-to-stop-a-bad-deal/

June 16, 2022



June 16, 2022 Washington, DC

This past Sunday, conservatives learned that ten Senate Republicans have agreed to a large scale gun control package with some of the Senate's most radical Democrats. The announced framework includes egregious provisions which are all-but-guaranteed to result in widespread violations of Americans' constitutional rights. In progressive-led states, these provisions could result in de facto partisan, door-to-door weapons confiscation.

Among the measures outlined in the agreement:

- Federal money to coerce states to implement unconstitutional "red flag" gun confiscation orders that violate due process rights;
- Additional federal money for states to close the "boyfriend loophole" in an illogical manner.
- Harassment of licensed gun dealers through ineffective "pre-sale" regulatory requirements;
- Arbitrary requirements to enhance screening for adults between the ages of 18 and 20;

 Potential implementation of a backdoor Universal Background Check system under the guise of "clarifying" the definition of a federally licensed firearm dealer.

It is unlikely that these policies will have any meaningful impact on reducing crimes where a gun is used by a violent criminal. However, it is clear that such provisions pose significant threats to law-abiding Americans' fundamental constitutional rights, especially the right to defend themselves and their families at a time when violent crime is soaring to historic highs.

In this political climate, Americans are right to be concerned how these proposed powers will be carried out by politicized bodies who have shown themselves to be increasingly hostile to conservatives..

Despite the apparent serious constitutional violations in the proposed framework, at least ten Republican senators agreed to meet the Democrats' radical demands.

Conservatives have good ideas on how to reduce crimes where guns are used. It is unfortunate that the current framework fails to prioritize policies designed to address the broken social and cultural institutions that habitually fall short of meeting the needs of American communities.

As such, conservatives are universally opposed to this gun control framework agreement and ask that the House and Senate reject this proposal and focus on protecting Americans from crime as opposed to attacking their constitutional liberties.

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell Chairman, Conservative Action Project Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.	The Honorable Tony Perkins President Family Research Council
The Honorable Jim DeMint Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)	Ed Corrigan Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.	Jenny Beth Martin
Chief Domestic Advisor President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)	Chairman Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Myron Ebell Director, Center for Energy and Environment Competitive Enterprise Institute	The Honorable Bob McEwen U.S. House of Representatives Former Member, Ohio
Thomas Fitton President, Judicial Watch, Inc. President, Council for National Policy	Chad Connelly Founder and President Faith Wins
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop White House Advisor President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)	<b>William L. Walton</b> The Bill Walton Show Resolute Protector Foundation
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq. President and CEO First Liberty Institute	Lori Roman President ACRU Action Fund
Cleta Mitchell, Esq. Senior Legal Fellow Conservative Partnership Institute	L. Brent Bozell III Founder and President Media Research Center
Tom Jones Co-Founder American Accountability Foundation	Wesley Denton Chief Operating Officer Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
Terry Schilling President American Principles Project	David N. Bossie President Citizens United
Scott T. Parkinson	Alfred S. Regnery President Republic Book Publishers
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell President The Leadership Institute	Willes K. Lee Vice President National Rifle Association of America
Heather R. Higgins CEO Independent Women's Voice	The Honorable Matthew Buckham Founder American Accountability Foundation
Daniel Honchariw, MPA Nevada State Director State Freedom Caucus Network	Craig Shirley Reagan Biographer Presidential Historian
Ralph Benko Chairman, The Capitalist League Weekly Columnist, Newsmax	Steven Utroska State Director – Mississippi State Freedom Caucus Network
Philip Singleton Georgia State Director State Freedom Caucus Network	Brooke Powell Illinois State Director State Freedom Caucus Network

Evan Newman South Carolina State Director State Freedom Caucus Network	Theo Wold Executive Director Idaho Freedom Caucus Network
Jordan Mason Executive Director South Dakota Freedom Caucus	Joan Holt Lindsey President Lindsey Communications
Richard H. Wright Owner R & S LLC	Seton Motley President Less Government
Eric Georgatos Executive Producer America Can We Talk?	<b>Judson Phillips</b> Founder Tea Party Nation
The Honorable Mike Hill Former Member Florida State House	Lee Beaman CEO Beaman Ventures
Mark Fitzgibbons President of Corporate Affairs American Target Advertising.	Mr. Marc Little Executive Director CURE America Action, Inc.
Dr. John E. Reese, III Founder Dental Access Carolina, LLC	Tim Throckmorton President Lifepointe Ministries
The Honorable George K. Rasley, Jr. Managing Editor ConservativeHQ.com	Tom DeWeese President American Policy Center
Dr. Mark A. Smith President CIU	Star Parker President Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
William Shaker CEO Washington Marketing Group	Floyd Brown Founder The Western Journal
Ben Case	Peggy Dau Co-founder Nationsnet.org
Don Woodsmall President (Interim) Center for Security Policy	Richard Norman Founder and President The Richard Norman Company
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle Trustee MRC	Robert D. Thompson Former Administrator The Weyrich Lunch (1999 – 2016)

Ron Pearson Executive Director Conservative Victory Fund	Kay R. Daly President Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Carole Woodruff Executive Vice President Foundation for American Christian Education	Joseph A. Morris Morris & De La Rosa Former U.S. Assistant Attorney General (Reagan-Meese)
Austin Stone Chief Operating Officer Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)	Susan Carleson Currer Chairman American Constitutional Rights Union
Elaine Donnelly President Center for Military Readiness	Mario Navarro da Costa Director, Washington Bureau Tradition, Family, Property
Allen J. Hebert Chairman American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston	The Honorable James C. Miller III Budget Director for President Reagan (1985- 1989)
C. Preston Noell III President Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.	Kevin Freeman Founder NSIC Institute
Karen England President Capitol Resource Institute	<b>Linda L. Bean</b> Family Business Owner L. L. Bean, Inc.
Dr. Shannon L. McCollough Global Gift Innovators	Melvin Adams President Noah Webster Educational Foundation
Peter J. Thomas Chairman The Conservative Caucus	Jack Park Conservative Activist and Donor
Richard Manning President Americans for Limited Government	Amy Kremer Chairwoman Women for America First

## **Dr. Chris Hughes**Founder & Chairman

The Citizens for America Foundation

## **DONATE**

More Memos